Banana Protein Oatmeal

Banana OatmealI go ape for bananas. I love banana bread, banana & peanut butter sandwiches and banana pudding, so when Quaker started making banana and cream oatmeal, I finally made oatmeal a part of my daily nutrition plan – until I started dieting. While dieting for my competition, I’ve had to strip away any sugar and keep my foods simple and clean. When you diet for 3 months to this extreme, I get creative so I can still enjoy food without feeling deprived. As I brainstormed on ways to spruce up my plain oatmeal, I decided to make my own healthier version of Quaker’s Banana & Cream Oatmeal.

designer whey proteinIngredients:
1/2 cup Water
1/4 cup Quaker Oats
3 tsp Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
1/4 scoop Designer Whey Vanilla Protein
1/4 Banana (thinly sliced)
1-2 tsp Sweetener
1/4 tsp Salt
1/8 tsp Ground Cinnamon
(Optional) Couple of Drops of Butter Extract & Banana Extract

Cooking Instructions:

banana protein oatmealCook the oatmeal in the water as directed. Reduce heat and add the banana, followed by the almond milk and protein powder, mixing over low heat. Add salt, sweetener and extracts. Add more almond milk if needed (depending on your preference of consistency). Poor into a bowl and sprinkle cinnamon on top to serve.

My Oatmeal vs Prepackaged Oatmeal
4.6 sugar vs 9g sugar
21g carbs vs 26g carbs
7.5g protein vs 3g protein
3.1g fiber vs 2g fiber

Log your food into the LoseIt app and track your calories with me!

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Healthy Lifestyle Coach, Owner of Lift Vero, Transformation Center and Gym in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on September 15, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yeah I love banana too! I have an awesome smoothie I came up with thats also good for weight loss, it’s main flavours are banana with a hint of ginger. So good 🙂

  2. Those that have mastered a more strategic approach to social media advertising and marketing hence
    get extra visibility whereas others battle to blast their followers with an increasing number of posts per
    day.

  3. Nice post. I used to bee checking constantly this blokg and I’m inspired!
    Extremely helpful information specifically the ultimate
    section 🙂 I care for such information much. I used to be seeking this certain information for a very long time.
    Thanks and good luck.

  4. Chicken thighs are a cheaper part of the bird and I
    find them on sale quite often. Disc Playback Modes: A-B Repeat,
    Angle, PBC, Slow Motion, Zoom, Disc Menu, Fast Backward, Fast Forward, OSD, Parental
    control, Resume Playback from Stop. Another benefit of having
    a food processor is that you can serve freshly squeezed fruit juice
    to your family for breakfast.

Leave a comment