31 DAYS OF MOTIVATION: Calories Count

What's more uncomfortable?

People will do nearly ANYTHING to lose weight, yet, people can’t stand it when I tell them to count calories. Whether they just are annoyed at the work it would require to count everything up, or they are just annoyed at the thought of having to have restrictions – either way, most people are not happy to hear those words coming from my mouth. Unfortunately, calories count whether you count them or not.

I admit, not everyone needs to count calories. Some people are lucky enough to be able to make smart choices (because they really enjoy eating low-calorie foods) and do well managing their weight naturally. Some people are able to make healthier choices simply because they don’t struggle with some of the temptations others struggle with. HOWEVER, if you battle overeating, binging, sweets, carbs, laziness or yo-yo dieting, I believe you should count your calories to help you stay accountable and manage portions, high-calorie items and exercise. Remember, it’s not something you have to do forever – but it will teach you SO much!

If you have tried eating better, eating smaller portions, working out more, etc but you’ve reached a plateau, maybe it’s time you start counting calories. You’ll be AMAZED with the results! Believe me, I’ve seen this time and time again – and I’ve watched people who have worked insanely hard not get results until they started counting calories. Are you ready to start moving that scale?! Commit to counting calories for 30 days. Unsure you can do it? Start with 14 days of calorie counting and then decide if you can do another 14 days then. I bet you surprise yourself!

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on January 12, 2014, in 2014 New Year Motivation, Mantras, PFOCUS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am stilllll counting calories, probably always will, cuz it WORKS! now this weekend harder to count things I didn’t make myself…..we had some sort of delish creamy chicken tortilla soup at the agility trial but I got a CUP not a BOWL! I’m gonna have to guess about 200 calories, due to the creamy part, and probably more salt than usually I get (but I didn’t puff up….also I drank a lot of water 🙂 but I need to get the recipe and adapt it maybe……..spicy hot I had the thinnest slice of Rosetta’s birthday cake, on Sunday too. The concession guys gave me a hard time about not taking more but oh well I didn’t need more than a taste! We will be out the door walking in a bit, no hurry my day off 🙂
    Down 150 lbs! so many comments on me and my fab dog this weekend !

  2. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really
    something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.

    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  3. This piece of writing is actually a nice one it assists new net
    visitors, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  4. Hello, everything is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing information,
    that’s really fine, keep up writing.

  5. I have an enthusiastic synthetic eye meant for fine detail and can anticipate complications prior to these people take place.

Leave a Reply

