31 Days of Motivation: The Power in Trying

2014 I CAN BE STRONGER2The last two days I discussed the hard part of getting fit in my 2-part blog series “The First Step to Fitness Success”. I discussed the sacrifices you must make in Surrender to Win Part 1 and Surrender to Win Part 2 I talked about denying yourself some of the things that give you pleasure now in order to enjoy the longterm pleasure of a healthy body. Today I talk about the easy part – and it’s a lot easier than you think.

Getting stronger, faster, thinner, healthier and better may sound like a lot of work, but it’s almost inevitable if you just keep trying. Have you seen that saying people share on facebook that says, “no matter how slow you go, you are still lapping everybody on the couch“? Well let’s take that a step further and make it a little more personal, “No matter how slow I go, I am still lapping THE OLD ME that used to sit on the couch.” My point is, whatever you ARE doing is better than when you did nothing.

try-try-again-bannerSo, let’s put things into perspective here. If you are one of those people that try really hard for 6 weeks and then drop off the face of the earth, you can easily do better this year. Anything you do that is more than what you have been doing is better. If you are the type of person who trains hard to make up for not dieting hard enough, anything you do to improve your eating will be an improvement. My point is, you don’t have to train like a professional athlete to be stronger or faster. You don’t have to starve yourself to be thinner. You don’t have to be perfect to be better – you just have try to make improvements. The more improvements you make, the greater your results will be.

Trying is of the most powerful things you can ever do. If you don’t try, you will never have the chance to succeed. Trying is the key to all victory. If you want to guarantee failure, quit trying. That is the only way you truly can fail.

“I can accept failure, everyone fails at something. But I can’t accept not trying.” Michael Jordan

Homework:

If you plan on beating the old you (last year’s 2013 model), then you have to write out what that looked like. Make a list of your training schedule and what you typically did. If your issue is your diet, then you may not need to change your training much, but you’ll need to focus more on eating better. Make a list of what you did wrong last year and what you want to avoid this year. Remember, ANY improvement is an improvement – and improvements multiply into great success.

Be encouraged! You can BE better. Just refuse to give up and commit to starting over as many times as it takes!

 

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on January 5, 2014, in 2014 New Year Motivation, Mantras, PFOCUS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. kdavisstoudt@verizon.net

    LOVING the 31 Days of Motivation!  Thank you!   

  2. I have really been rolling the first few blogs around in my head the past few days and digging down deep. I have struggled with the last 20 lbs for the last 6 months I go 1 step forward 2 back… I have been thinking about your surrender post and started really thinking about why am I holding tight to this last bit…..I have come to the realization is I need to be satisfied in the surrender. I know crazy right….as a Christian your blogs have resonated and made me really look to why. It’s not about the food for me, it’s more of an attitude of I want it and I deserve it. I am really seeing now that thru being satisfied with the surrender I will be gaining far more. I don’t have any problem with my fitness program, I am amazed at what this 45 year old body can do, it’s the nutrition side. I am learning to eat to live not live to eat…..and to be satisfied in the surrender (that’s my prayer before every meal, and before my feet hit the ground in the morning) you inspire me and encourage me! One of these days I’m going to drive to Florida and see if I can hang with one of Steve’s boot camps! My daughter kept encouraging me to journal the process and my story is on my page cat4man at WordPress it’s under the anniversary of the death of a fat lady. Thanks again for everything you are doing to help us out here take back our lives! My theme song through this journey is Mandissa Overcommer (great workout song too!)

    • Thank you SO much for sharing!!! I love your input! I’m so happy these blogs are helping you. Please keep me posted. I’d love to know what you learn and how you continue to progress. It took my mom 50+ years to finally surrender and take full responsibility, and it was not too late. She has reinvented herself and SO much happier now!! Keep in touch!

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Motivation: Get the YOU 2.0 Update | PFITblog

Leave a Reply

