The Scoop About the Polar Loop

FitFluential LLC compensated me for this post. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Many of you asked me what I thought about my new Polar Loop and, as promised, here’s my review!

Polar Loop

Pretty

Let’s be honest. Some of the activity trackers are not that pretty. The Polar Loop looks nice on and, with the silver accents, looks more like a piece of jewelry than a sports band. Another thing I like about the Polar Loop is that it tells time. I mean, if you are going to wear something in place of your watch, it might as well tell time too right? That is something my last activity tracker didn’t offer, and I really enjoy that simple feature.

Polar Loop Simple

If you are looking for a ton of options and fancy features, this isn’t your band. This activity tractor is super simple and focuses on covering the basics. The band syncs easily with the iPhone via bluetooth, which I love. No special adaptors or cables needed to see your updated activity.

Once you have synced your band with your Polar Loop app, you can view just one screen that shows everything you need to see at one glance.

The circular graphic displays activity from light to dark blue:

WHITE: Sitting or passive behavior
GREY: Medium activity – walking or moderate activity
LIGHT BLUE: Resting or lying down
BLUE: Low activity, standing work or light choirs
DARK BLUE: High activity, jogging, running and intense activity.

polar loopClick on the circle and it will display your activity in real time so you can see your movement and rest patterns. That’s my favorite screen, because it doesn’t look as bad as allllll that white and light grey! ha! BUT, it’s good to see the reality of how inactive even an active person like me is!

Polar loop

polar loop

The Polar Loop gives you goals and displays where you are for the day. You can see here, above (at the top of the screen), that I was 254% of my goal. If you scroll down on this same screen, you will continue to see more information including:

 Calories Burned
 Steps Taken
 Active time
 Sleep Time

The Polar Loop shows I received one inactivity alert to remind me to get moving! It also has some motivational words about your activity to make you feel like a super star! …AND, if you need some help getting moving, you can click on the “i” (information) button and it will display ways to reach your goal.

The most exciting thing to me about the Polar Loop is that it’s the only activity band that connects with a heart rate monitor – so this bracelet will track calories burned and activity even more accurately than any other exercise band. This is something I’m still working on how to learn, and use.

Polar LoopI wore it on our LiveXFit show yesterday and I traced my calories burned in one of Steve’s kickboxing classes – where it showed I burned over 500 calories. I LOVE knowing how many calories I’m burning when I exercise!! It makes me love those darn burpees a little bit more! I’ll share more as I learn it. I still have a lot of playing to do!!

Check out this cool video showing all the features!

Technical features:

  • Waterproof for swimming
  • Custom-fit bracelet
  • Time of day
  • Display texts in English
  • Data transfer via custom USB cable or Bluetooth Smart via Polar Flow mobile app
  • Memory capacity 12 days activity data
  • Rechargeable battery with 5 days continuous use
  • Web service compatibility with Mac OS X 10.6, OS X 10.7, OS X 10.8, or later, and PC Windows XP, Windows 7, Windows 8, or later
  • Mobile app compatibility with iOS 6 (iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, iPhone 5C, iPhone 5S, iPod touch) or later

Bottom line, if you really love fitness and tracking calories burned, get the Polar Loop, as well as the chest strap heart rate monitor, for the most accurate calorie and activity tracking around! I’ll share more as I learn more!! Now, I better get ACTIVE!!

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on December 6, 2013, in Fitness News, product reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have a FitBit One that I love but if I ever need to replace it, I am going to go with the Loop. I really love the way this looks and the features are great! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I have been looking for something like this for a while now. I do know that others work well, but don’t have all the other bells and whistles this one might have. Looks great and might try it out. Thanks.

  3. I have a blogspot page, How can I travel the vistors and get their ip address?

  4. very disappointing interface. you cannot set your own goals and the Loop calculates information you cannot use for anything. Polar has no clue what people want, it will not work with 3rd party apps either. I keep holding my breath hoping someone in their IT department will wake up because it looks sharp, it’s comfortable and easy to set up.

Leave a Reply

