Eat, Train, Live Like Everyone’s Watching

Eat, Train & Live

Would you run a little faster if someone was timing you? Would you lift one more rep if people were circled around you cheering you on? Would you make the same choices if your trainer went home with you and watched you prepare a meal, or sat next to you on the couch while you snacked?

What about how you live? Would you tell a certain joke if your pastor was in the room. Would you complain about your job if your boss was listening? Would you take Jesus to all the movies you’ve seen?

I believe, if you answered these questions honestly, you would probably act a bit differently if you ate, trained and lived like everyone important was watching.

you-is-kindYOU are important – and YOU are watching. You know everything you are doing, and what you could be doing better or different. So why cheat yourself? Even if your trainer doesn’t see you eat ice cream at night, you will wake up with the guilt – whether they find out or not. You will judge yourself. No one else has to live with the decisions you make in secret.

Don’t get me wrong. I make plenty of bad decisions in private – and public too, for that matter. I’m no angel. I’m the queen of opening my mouth when I should have kept it shut. As much as I want to do the right thing and be good, my nasty flesh comes out and I spew out ugliness, laziness and selfishness in a hurry. While I’m just as wrong as the next person, I believe we should always remember to TRY to strive for improvement – in public AND in private.

Good CharacterWhat you do in private eventually comes out for all to see. If you cuss at home, you are sure to cuss eventually in front of someone. If you eat poorly when no one is watching, it will show up on your body. If you are a disgruntled employee, it WILL show in your attitude or work performance (and your boss will know – believe me, I know! ha!). If you want to change the way people see you, and you also want to see yourself differently too – start changing the way you act, and think, when you are alone.

You have to live with you for the rest of your life, so work to become a person you can forgive, be proud of, and be happy to live with. No matter how hard you try, you WILL fail.  Just try to fail less often.

“The true test of a man’s character is what he does when no one is watching.”John Wooden.

Make a decision today to eat, train and live like everyone is watching.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on October 24, 2013, in Goals, Mantras, Motivational, PFOCUS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow, reality check for me!!! Thank you for this post Bonnie – really makes you take a step back and assess yourself.

  2. A famous former CEO of a company I once worked for said “Integrity is what you do when no one is watching”. If you do the right thing when no one else will ever know about it, you have integrity.
    When you are alone in the gym or out running you have to hold yourself accountable. What are you doing this routine for? For fun? Were you bored? Nothing better to do? Hell no. You are out there running because you have a goal. It may be to push this run an extra mile or do it faster. It’s not always easy and it doesn’t always work, but I try to push as hard as I can when I’m “doing it”.
    My last marathon is an example of how I roll. There were people watching, but I was not running for them. I was running for me. I had a goal to achieve.

Leave a Reply

