Yummy Lower-Cal Honey Lime Dressing

honey-lime dressingLast night I posted a pic of this salad I made on instagram & facebook and you guys asked me for the recipe for the dressing. As always, I threw this recipe together last night without measuring anything – just making it up as I go. If I had to guess, it went a little like this…

  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon or lime juice
  • 1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar (or champagne vinegar)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup hellmans 15 calorie light mayo
  • 2 tablespoons honey mustard
  • 2 tablespoons of Stevia (instead of honey)
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro (optional)
  • 4-5 dashes of cayenne pepper (optional)

HoneyNote: This morning I went online and looked at other recipes, just to compare what I did with mainstream recipes. Many recipes called for up to a CUP of honey (ouch on the calories) and up to a CUP of olive oil (double ouch!). I admit, 1/2 cup of olive oil would probably taste better, but is too many calories for me. That’s also why I add the mayo – to thicken it up and richen the taste up, which also helps the dressing stick to the salad better, so less waste.

Here’s what Steve said when he was done eating: “Do you know that roller coaster I really love at Sea World? It’s so fun I don’t want it to end and I’ll happily stand back in line to do it over and over. That’s how I feel about this salad.” So, I guess my lower-cal version did just fine! 🙂

mrs-dash-south-west-chipotle-seasoning-mix-71g-945-p

The Salad:

  • Grilled Southwest Chipotle Chicken
  • Arugula
  • Avocado
  • Vidalia Onion
  • Mango
  • Sliced Almond Accents
  • (and I ended up sprinkling on a few Craisins just for Stevo)

Here’s a pic of Steve’s salad:

chipotle chicken & mango salad

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on August 12, 2013, in Healthy Foods, PFOODIE, Recipes & Brands and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Now THAT’S what’s for dinner!!! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

