You Body Can’t Afford to Wait On Your Mind

do it anywayHow often do you hear people say “I’m just not motivated” or “I just don’t feel like it”.  Listen, if we always did what we felt like doing, we probably wouldn’t get very far in life. We’d never keep a job. We’d probably have a hard time keeping a boyfriend, much less a husband. Think of all the important events we wouldn’t go to, that we should have – just because we “didn’t feel like it”. Think of the things we’d say that should never come out of our mouth. Seriously, think of the friends we’d lose! Doing what our body WANTS to do is rarely a good thing – and while we use some control in many parts of our lives, we treat our body differently and break all the rules.

When it comes to workouts, I rarely want to do it – but, like many other things in life, I do what I need to do whether I feel like it or not because it’s the right thing to do. Why should I treat my body any differently than my job, my spouse or my friend. I’d like to keep it for a while right? Then I need to treat it right – whether I feel like it or not.

This week’s commitment:

Decide today to quit making decisions based on feelings. Your workout is an important job that needs to be done – and it pays really well.

Show Up.
Do It.
Be Proud.
Enjoy the Reward
It’s that Simple.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on August 5, 2013, in Goals, Healthy Priorites, Motivational, PFOCUS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I was so in need of this week’s commitment! I have been spending WAY too much mental energy on what someone else thinks (or doesn’t think) of me, and I’ve let it become a stumbling block to my goals! NO MORE!

    • I have SOOOO been there. I once was the out-of-shape girl who was embarrassed to go to the gym and workout around all the hot college chicks that were just coming out of puberty! It was intimating. I only wanted to go if I felt good for myself – but I couldn’t feel good or look good UNLESS I went when I didn’t feel and look good. It’s silly how we let ourselves get in the way of ourselves! Make this week count & ROCK IT!

  2. Bravo!

  3. Thank you! I needed this realization. I let my feelings dictate if I will work out. I even use that nothing is on tv during my cardio stair climbs excuse! Your the best!

  4. God to revisit this now and then.

Leave a Reply

