Low-Carb Low-Cal Burrito

healthy burritoI threw this bad boy together yesterday for lunch and it was YUM YUM good! 

5oz Seasoned Ground Turkey
1 LaBanderita Low-Carb Tortilla (only 81 calories)
2 T Light Sour Cream
3 T Ariba’s Fire Roasted Mexican Chipotle Salsa
Diced Onion
Diced Tomato
Kale Super Food Mix (salad greens)
Topped with Taco Bell’s Hot Sauce (it makes me feel like I’m cheating for some reason! ha!)

225 calories
37g protein
9g carbs
4g fat

Need more carbs? Add 1/3 cup Quinoa for 74 more calories (total of 299 calories)

The key to success for me is to already have the main ingredients cooked up ready to go! I cooked this Sunday and have used it in various meals like this one! Personally, if I had more time (I was in a BIG hurry) I would have chopped fresh tomato, used a bunch of romaine lettuce and grilled onions and pepper. But I was in a rush, but it was so yummy and toootally satisfied my Mexican craving (which I get every other day!) 😉

Turkey Taco Meat:
2.5lbs ground turkey
Grilled Chopped Onion
1/4 cup lime juice
2 packets of taco seasoning

Beware of These Burrito Ingredients

Chipotle burritoBurritos can be super high in calories if you aren’t careful. Between the high calories wraps most restaurants use and the popular stuffings like rice, cheese and refried beans, many burritos can rack up the calories quick. I used Chipotle’s ingredients and calories as an example.

Tortillas (290 calories) O…M….G!
Cheese: (100 calories)
Rice: (170/white rice & 160/brown rice)
Beans: (120 calories for black or pinto beans)
Guacamole: (150 calories)
Sour Cream: (120 calories)

toppingsLow-Cal Ingredients:

Corn Salsa: 80 calories (might not be worth it)
Fajita Veggies: 20 calories
Tomato Sals: 20 calories
Tomatillo Green Salsa: 40 calories
Tomatillo Red Salsa: 15 calories
Lettuce: 5 calories

Look how the calories add UP…

1,265 CALORIES: Chipotle Chicken burrito with rice, beans, fajita veggies, corn salsa, cheese, sour cream & guac. (turn it into a bowl and it’s 975 calories – better, but still super high)
785 CALORIES: Chipotle Chicken burrito with brown rice, no beans, salsa and sour cream. (a bowl is 495)
645 CALORIES: Chipotle Chicken burrito with only chicken, fajita veggies, lettuce, sour cream and salsa. (A bowl is only 355)

Healthy Chipotle Chicken Burrito Bowl:

Chicken, lettuce, fajita veggies, fresh tomato salsa, Tomatillo green salsa and guacamole (for healthy fats to help the meal stay with you longer). 400 calories, 37g protein

Just because you are dieting doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy the foods you like. You just need to eat smart and make healthy choices – as well as eat the right portions. 🙂

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I make these a lot, very similar. I’ll occasionally add some home made guac, I don’t mind a few extra calories and it’s a healthy MUFA. I think I should just start cooking up bigger batches of turkey taco meat though, I use the leftovers in omelets the next day as well. 🙂

  2. This looks great! Also, that is some great advice about eating at those burrito places, thanks for sharing!
    http://stepstochangetheworld.wordpress.com/

  3. I am OBSESSED with Chipotle so when I started to eat healthier I was worried about not being able to eat there. But, I turned my burrito into a bowl with: no rice, double chicken, beans, fajita veggies, corn, cheese & sour cream (my two splurges). it still adds up to a whopping 740 calories but I get THREE lunches out of it 🙂 Or sometimes only TWO if I skip a snack or something. I love that when I pay attention to calories/nutrition and PORTION size, i can still eat what I like, yay!! Plus, somehow it’s easier to divide in half if it’s in a bowl. I always ate the whole thing when it was a burrito.

Leave a Reply

