Why Do You Train?

You don't have to be first

Reality Check

WinnerWhy do you train? Sometimes that is a question we have to not only ask ourselves when we start a workout program, but we have to ask ourselves that over and over again on our journey. Why? Because we get off track. We often start with a clear and specific goal in mind. It’s normally very simple. We want to be better. We want to be a better version of our old self.

Then, as we pursue that goal, we tend to get off track. We begin to compare ourselves to others. We can easily begin to see what we are not, instead of what we’ve become. Sometimes this can make us push harder. For many, it can do the opposite. We can become discouraged or overwhelmed. Sometimes we can become obsessed.

crossfit winnerI encourage you to step back. Look at why you started this. Look at how far you’ve come. Look at the big picture. You are not a better woman, mom, worker, friend, spouse or neighbor if you hold a trophy. No trophy, prize or title makes you better. Being better than someone else doesn’t make you better. Being better than the old you makes you better. That’s what makes you a success. Your greatest accomplishment is beating your own records and accomplishing new goals. THAT makes you a winner.

rundisney 2013 Disney's Princess Half Marathon WinnerThere is no greater reward than a healthier you. There is nothing better than feeling stronger than you did a few weeks ago, leaner than you’ve been in a long time, healthier than you ever thought possible.

YOU are your reward.

YOU are your prize.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on April 5, 2013, in Encouragement, Goals, Healthy Priorites, Mantras, Motivational, PFOCUS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I train to be the healthiest and most in shape I have ever been in my life, always.

  2. At this stage in my life I train for MY needs and not for how others view me. After all-who knows me–better than–well ME??
    Dennis Mastrolia

  3. I train because I love it, but I find myself often become OBSESSED with training. And today I made a healthy decision to skip a second workout even though it was to be weight training, which is my favorite, but I know too much can do more harm than good!

  4. Hi,

    I can’t seem to find your email and have a quick question about your blog. Could you email me?

    Mike

  5. I train to play sport. The more I train the better I play. No sport – no training. I need the exterior motivation.

  1. Pingback: April/May News | Elliexercise's Blog

Leave a Reply

