Roasted Cabbage is Crack

Roasted CabbageOK, so I saw this beautiful picture of Kalyn’s Kitchen’s Roasted Cabbage, and knew I MUST give it a try. When I took a look at the recipe, I was surprised to see so few of ingredients. It looked so yummy, yet it was so simple – Too simple, I thought. Honestly, after I read the ingredients, I wasn’t expecting much. But, since I love cabbage, I new I couldn’t go wrong. BOY WAS I IN FOR A TREAT!

I did make some slight adjustments to the original recipe. I like a lot of flavor, and I needed less fat, so here was what I did.

Roasted Cabbage with Lemon

1 Head of Cabbage, cut in 8 halves (keeping stem)
3 TBS lemon Juice
1 TBS Olive Oil
Garlic Powder
Sea Salt
Cracked Pepper

Roasted CabbageI sprayed the baking sheet with pam, then placed the cabbage halves neatly on the pan. I brushed the lemon juice and olive oil mixture over the cabbage until almost all of it was used. Finally, I dusted the cabbage lightly with garlic powder, sea salt & pepper. I cooked the cabbage on one side for 15 minutes on 450, then flipped each piece, recoated with the remaining lemon mixture and baked it for another 10-12 minutes.

Makes 8 servings: 45 Calories each
14.2g Carbs, 3g protein, 3.7g fat

I’m Addicted

I had 2 pieces and it took EVERYTHING out of me not to have a 3rd and 4th piece. Then Steve came home and had his 2 pieces with grilled chicken. Then he went back for more…and then some more. Then there was one very lonely piece left behind. What was one to do? Yes, you guessed it, he went back and had the final piece too, saving me the final bite. Now you know why I am calling it Crack. We couldn’t stop eating it. It was so dang delicious! I will be going back to the store today and I plan on wiping out the cabbage aisle! So, if you live in Vero Beach, you better get to the store fast if you need cabbage! haha 😉  ENJOY!

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on March 27, 2013, in PFOODIE, Recipes & Brands and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It is crack….made it tonight, soooo verrryyyy yummy!!! THANKS

  2. How do you think it will be without adding any oil at all?

  1. Pingback: Grocery Shop with Me! 7 Healthy Shopping Tips & This Week’s Grocery List | pFIT blog

Leave a Reply

