FIT & LITE: Papaya & Maui Onion Dressing

Chicken saladWhile at a women’s retreat at my church, I was served a really nice chicken salad over greens with this wonderful orange colored dressing. It was so fresh and delicious I decided I HAD to learn more about this mysterious dressing. Since I eat a lot of salads, and prefer homemade dressings, I was on a mission to add this dressing to my recipe box.

With a little research, and the help of my BFF, I discovered the mysterious dressing was a homemade papaya dressing made by my BFF’s mom. I always hear about her amazing cooking, and now I got to experience it firsthand.

Knowing I was in the fitness business, she proudly boasted it was really pretty healthy and was generous enough to share her fabulous recipe – and I couldn’t WAIT to give the recipe a try!

Papaya DressingLow and behold, after I inputed the ingredients in www.LoseIt.com, I was amazed to see it was only 28 calories and 2 grams a fat per ounce (or 2 tablespoons). Although most people use 2-4 ounces of dressing on a large salad,  because the consistency of this dressing is so thick I used a lot less than I normally do – meaning even fewer calories!

I tried the recipe out for a family dinner and it was a hit so I thought I’d share it with you. Enjoy!

Papaya & Maui Onion Dressing Recipe

1/2 small Maui onion (or any sweet white onion)
1 1/2 small Papayas or 1/2 of a lg. one, seeded and peeled
1/4 cup rice vinegar
¼ cup honey
1 oz. sesame seed oil
1 cup canola oil (I used 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup olive oil)
salt and pepper
Add Stevia to sweeten (I didn’t quite use a 1/4 c of honey so I added sweetener)

Blend until smooth.

It yielded 40 ounces total, which was enough to feed an army! (or my husband Steve!)  🙂
I served it with a light chicken salad with grapes and walnuts on a bed of fresh organic greens.

 

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on February 27, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This sounds so good! I am definitely trying this 🙂

  2. I tried this recipe. I substituted a few ingredients because I didn’t have them. So for canola, I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 water. Olive oil is very expensive where I live, so I chose not to use it. For rice vinegar, I used apple cider vinegar. For the seasame oil, I used tahini. I love citrus, so I added half of a lemon. It came out great. I love it and so much of it too. I plan to share some to friends. Clearly I have messed with the calorie content, but I normally have my dressing on the side, so that helps with portion control.

  3. What is in the chicken salad in the photo. That looks amazing as well. Would love that recipe!

Leave a Reply

