A Bad Run is Better than No Run

tough runnerThis past Sunday, Steve and I woke up early to run before church. I already knew this was not going to be an easy run. I had a killer leg workout Friday and my legs were SO tight and sore. Even still, I had no idea just how bad it was going to be.

We laced up our tennies, I set my RunKeeper app and we hit the pavement. This chick in the pic (right) is what I wanted to look like running. I wanted to be tough, powerful, fast but I couldn’t have felt more wimpy, weak and slow. It was literally a stretch just to swing one leg in front of the other. My hamstrings were so tight, I felt like I had bungie chords attached to my butt preventing my legs from functioning.

slow runnerImmediately, Steve’s pace was already about 2 times faster than my body wanted to go. Maybe my breathing wouldn’t have been so bad if I wasn’t spending all my breath complaining with every step. I fully expected to loosen up and start getting in the zone – but “the zone” never came.

2 Miles in, finally Steve had enough of my pathetic moaning and told me to basically quit complaining and suck it up. I had nothing nice to say, so you guessed it, I said nothing at all. He’d ask me a question and I just said nothing. I knew if I opened my mouth it wouldn’t be pretty so I just brewed with each step infuriated at my body’s poor performance.

turtle and rabbitOur pace was steady averaging 6mph/10-minute miles. This was not supposed to feel like 7 minute miles, but it did. Then Steve had the nerve to tell me to sprint. #%@&^! That’s great, I can barely run already and now you want me to sprint?  #%@&^PERFECT#%@&^! Again, since I had nothing nice to say, I just took off sprinting and left him in the dust. I wasn’t mad at steve, I was irritated with my body. I just wanted to punch myself.

My hamstrings felt like I was doing straight-leg dead lifts with every step. My calves were on FIRE and my heart was pounding out of my chest like I had just finished 100 burpees. What the HECK?! Ugh!

Reebok RealflexThen, after the torture was over and as I stood there with Steve, sweaty, exhausted and discouraged, I realized even a bad run is better than no run.

We focus on our ability (or lack of) so much we forget about our ability to just do it. Even a 12-minute mile is a great mile. Sure, we’ll have those frustrating days when we are tempted to feel like failures, but we need to focus on our successes – like showing up.

So what if you didn’t have a new PR. So what if you feel like a fat cow. So what if you had to walk part of the way, or you tripped and fell during your 10K (yes, Robin, I read your facebook post! ha!). It doesn’t matter. You laced up, you hit the pavement and you finished. That, my friend, is what fitness is all about.

Today’s Motivation

A Bad Run is Better Than No Run

FitFluential LLC compensated me for this post. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on February 26, 2013, in Encouragement, Mantras, Motivational, PFOCUS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Loved this post…for 30 years I ran 4 days a week…6 miles per run at 7:30 pace. I had many a day like you just described. Now at 62 I no longer run but have substituted CrossFit to feed my addictive behavior. Must say your post put a smile on my face…thanks.

  2. Haha, love that pic of the tortoise and the hare

  3. I hate when a 10 min pace feels like 7:00. I haven’t run in 4 days and I feel like crap! It’s like going through withdrawel. But I have a nice 8 mile fix scheduled for tonight.

  4. So true! I’m new to running and my hubby smokes me every time we run together! I get so mad at myself, but I never regret running, that’s for sure! It just pushes me to keep trying!

Leave a Reply

