30 Days of Motivation: Know Your Rights

2013 just because

When I sat down to write this blog today, I thought about is all the excuses we come up with that give us the “right” to complain, to quit, to blame or to stumble. That’s when I came up with today’s motivational mantra. Then it hit me. We live in a world where we love to exercise our rights – but just because we have the right to do something, doesn’t necessarily mean we should do it.

Know Your Rights vs Know You’re Right

illegal “All things are lawful, but all things are not helpful. All things are lawful, but I will not be brought under the power of any.” 1 Corinthians 6:12

What Paul is saying here is that just because he has the right to do something doesn’t mean it’s right to do. Yet, I think many people focus more on our rights, than doing right. Just because something isn’t illegal doesn’t mean we should do it, right? Yet, that’s how we treat much of our life.

do what's rightSo, maybe you are thinking, “what does this have to do with fitness?” EVERYTHING! We have the right to abuse our body. We have the right to eat whatever we want and do whatever we want – but is it the right way to live? I don’t think so.

If you work hard, and are exhausted at the end of the day, is it right to neglect your body. Even if you have 5 kids and are tight on cash, that doesn’t give you the right to eat crappy. And, just because you have a good excuse why your body can’t do something, doesn’t mean you don’t try.

Exercise Your Rights vs Right to Exercise

Today, I want to focus MORE on doing the right thing rather doing what I have the right to do. I want to do what is right for my body, what is right for my marriage, what is right for my staff, what is right for my life.

We are free to exercise our right to enjoy our freedom to be lazy and do whatever our little heart desires. OR, we can do what is helpful and good. Exercise your right to do right.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on January 9, 2013, in 30 Days of Motivation, Mantras, Motivational, PFOCUS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. good timing on this one! i’ve recently been building up walls of excuses for me not to do the right thing as far as my body is concerned. all other aspects of my life i do the right thing, but not so much lately when it comes to the skin i’m in…
    starting today i will become more in tune with what is the right thing do to for my body…
    thank you, Bonnie!

  2. OUCH! all so true. This post gave me a prickly pinch. And sometimes I need that. I’ll start with the part about “I don’t have to say it.” Thanks Bonnie!

Leave a Reply

