#GetAfterIt Giveaway: Reebok Plank Challenge

WIN A REEBOK TEE! We have 2 Reebok Challenges for a chance to WIN today: One was LIVE at Max Fitness Club today and the other one is right here, at the end of this blog. Check it out!

At LoseIt Boot Camp kickoff today, we ended class with a Reebok Plank Contest. After holding up the #GetAfterIt shirt, Michelle Ward says, “I WANT that SHIRT!” – and she was serious. A year and a half ago, she wouldn’t even been able to fit in the little fitted shirt we were holding up. But if she wanted it, she had to earn it.

The room was packed with bodies face down, on their hands and knees ready to plank their guts out. “Ready, Set, GO!” shouts Paula Feil, BCx Boot Camp Trainer – and it’s ON! The trainers, Steve Pfiester, Cristina McDaniel, Paula Feil and myself begin our motivational chatter.

To hold plank longer than one or two minutes is already challenging enough – much less the length of time these people ended up planking for.  Plus, you have to remember, this is AFTER an intense 1-hour boot camp class. Now, I should also mention that this was not a room of athletes. This was a eclectic group of individuals – from people who haven’t worked out at ALL, to people who have done multiple boot camps. Either way, it had been a few weeks since we’ve held boot camp so it was a new beginning for most. You can see just how challenging it really was for even people like our multi-boot camp goer, Robin Sullivan (as you can see by the look on her face).

One minute went by, then two, then three, four and five. Five minutes of plank is super challenging. After five minutes of planking, half the group was still hanging in there and really giving this all they had. Before we knew it, we were reaching 10 minutes of non-stop planking. Just look at Troy Wilson here, who is POURING sweat after 15 minutes of planking, and he wasn’t even moving. That just shows how hard your body has to work to suspend your body off the ground.

Finally, after 15 minutes of planking we were down to the final few: David Summerfield, Heidi Birchmeyer, Michelle Ward, Shelley Guilford and Ryan Capone.

The last 2 minutes seemed like the second hand was in slow motion. Over 16 minutes and it finally got down to 2 people: Michelle Ward (pictured right) and Heidi Birchmeyer. BAM! Heidi’s body finally gave way at 17 minutes, making Michelle Ward the Planking Super Star. Both girls were, but only one won the shirt! I guess she REALLY wanted that #GetAfterIt shirt BAD!!

The Old Michelle

This is a pic I snagged off Michelle’s facebook of when she was heavier, just to give you an idea of just how victorious days like today really are to someone like Michelle. At first glance, it would be easy to discount her efforts, seeing how tiny she is now. Although 17 minutes of plank is hard for anyone (specially after an hour of kick-butt boot camp). I bet she would have never guessed, back when she was heavy, that she’d beat a class full of people in a Plank Contest.

Here’s Michelle right after her body dropped to the ground in relief and exhaustion. Along with the photo of her barely holding her shirt up with her tired arms. Congrats Michelle!!

SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!

I have more shirts to give away!! So, I’m going to give YOU a chance to join the plank contest.

3 WAYS TO WIN: (ENDS SUNDAY NOVEMBER 18TH!)

FIRST, Share and Like this blog. 🙂 Thanks! Now, let’s get to planking!! 

1.) POST A COMMENT: Hold plank as long as you can and post your time in the comments below. I will do a random drawing from everyone who at least tries it. I don’t care how long you hold it – remember, some people can’t even hold it for 60 seconds at first – but if it’s the first time you have every done it, that’s freakin’ awesome! (Click on the link to see how to do the exercise if it’s new to you.)

2.) POST A YOUTUBE VIDEO. Tape yourself doing plank for as long as you can – and add #getafterit in your youtube name and I will give the first 2 people to post a video a Reebok #getafterit t-shirt.

3.) LONGEST PLANK VIDEO: I decided to add one more way to WIN! If you can beat someone’s time, post your youtube video. The person with the longest plank on video will get a BCx Boot Camp tee!

GUIDELINES: Of course we are going on the honor system for #1, but to be fair, our rules are simple. You can shift your weight around, as LONG as you stay on your hands and toes only. No knees, no rest, no cheating. 🙂 

FOLLOW US:
BCx Boot Camp: http://www.twitter.com/dobcx
Max Fitness Club: http://www.twitter.com/maxfitnessclub

FitFluential LLC compensated me for this post. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on November 10, 2012, in Exercise & Training, PFIT TIPS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Bonnie, it’s not very good! But I did it… after a wedding in my dressy clothes!!! I need that shirt!!!! #getafterit

    • that was hilarious! ha! Loved that you were in dressy clothes and did it anyway! When you do your #plankaday, be sure to do them on your hands unless your wrists or hands have issues. I think it would be a little more challenging and be great for ya!! Thanks for planking for all of us! Email me your address (my email addy is under the Contact tab up at top) and I’ll get u your tee!! 🙂

      • oops, I should have told you that I can’t hold myself for long periods on my wrist right now… I fell a few weeks ago and it just hurts too much still. Sorry. I will send you my address!!! So excited!!! #getafterit

  2. Oh, I didn’t tell you that my plank was 1:26. Not my best but not my worst! That’s for making me do it!!! Time to get back to plank a day!!!

  3. I am up to doing 2 min plank every day after my run or Jillian Michaels DVD!

  4. 2 minutes:) #getafterit

  5. 3 minutes on my hands after the Reebutt! I think I could have done more but I needed music or something to distract me.

  6. Wow that was harder than I expected! 2:30 on my hands and feet…that is awesome those guys held a push up plank for over 16 minutes! Thanks for the challenge

  7. Wednesday was my birthday and I challenged myself to beat my 2 minutes…7 minutes and 15 seconds later I beat my challenge! Best birthday gift ever!!

Leave a Reply

