Are You a Fitness TURN OFF or TURN ON?

You live healthy, you exercise and eat right – and you want to make a difference in the lives around you. You are a fitness ambassador – a representative of healthy living. But, are you effective? How do others view fitness through you? Are you a turn-off or a turn-on?

If you’re like me, you want fitness to become contagious. However, that is not accomplished by preaching to everyone around you, telling people they are fat, and telling them how awful their food choices are. With fitness, there is a right way, and a wrong way, to spread the healthy love.

Let’s look at someone else who also has a message to spread: a preacher. What preacher do you think is the most effective? The guy who waves his bible at everyone on the street corner telling people they are going to hell or the guy who simply lives by example and shares his message though his actions not his words? Both of them have the same message, but one is going to be a lot more effective. The question is: Which one are you?

6 Steps to Becoming an Effective Fitness Ambassador

We need to look at our area of influence and our effectiveness. If you have lost weight, or just live a healthy lifestyle, you have the opportunity to impact those around you – for the good OR the bad. Either way, people are watching you. It’s important you realize your responsibility and the opportunity you have to encourage others, as well as the risk you have to discourage others around you if you go about it the wrong way. Here are 5 tips to making your influence a positive one.

1. Less is more. You will make a bigger impact on people around you with your actions, not your words. Talking about fitness and diet all day is a big turn-off. Aside from my blogs and tips, I try not to start conversation about fitness. People know they can come to me if they want to talk about it, but I never want people to think that hanging out with Bonnie means talking about diet and exercise – that could get old quick.

2. Be sensitive. If you have a friend who struggles with their weight, you just being ‘you’ is already a reminder that they need to get healthy and fit. Your actions will speak loud and clear. The last thing you need to do is tell them what they should be doing or announce how many calories are in their meal while dining out. Although you may want to convince them to take action – the only action they may take is running away from you.

3. Be real. No one likes to be around someone who acts like they have it all together. Don’t try to act like a rockstar or constantly brag about your new PR (personal record) to your unfit friends. They don’t want to hear it. Instead, on the days you struggle, share it. Be honest with your own fitness journey – not just highlight your awesomeness. By exposing your own weaknesses, you will give others around you hope and encouragement.

4. Love them where they are. One of my friends who was 100lbs overweight once told someone that we made her feel comfortable. As a fitness leader, that was one of the biggest compliments I had ever received. I believe you actually have to go out of your way to even be more loving and sensitive to those who maybe insecure or overweight. Often times their first thought of anyone who works out is that they are self-absorbed  or vain. It’s your job to prove them wrong – by loving them where they are.

5. Invite them in. Many unfit people feel like outsiders because they live outside your life and you forgot to invite them in. This is one of the trickiest things for me as a gym owner. People always say “Oh, you should give her a free pass” and then I often don’t do it because I don’t want her to think I’m implying she’s fat and needs to join my gym. However, in comparison to church, I’m surprised how many people will say stuff like “no one ever invited me”. Wow! Can you imagine? Someone out there is ready to go if someone just would invite them? Now, here’s a warning: Invite them occasionally, but don’t stalk them. If they agree to show up and they flake out on you, don’t make them feel bad about it. The key to a really good invitation is being able to let them off the hook if they say no. Otherwise your invitation becomes more like a prison sentence.

6. Never give up. We all know people who have taken YEARS to reach. Whether it’s getting them to church or the gym, people are always worth investing in. This doesn’t mean you wear yourself out trying to fix them, but you should never quit planting little seeds and making sure they know you will be there for them when they are ready.

Don’t hoard your fitness – Share it! You may be the ONLY person who cares enough to help those around you. Your impact on someone can be greater than even some of the biggest fitness celebrities. YOU can play your part to help America get fit and fight obesity.

Subscribe to get more tips!

I am a FitFluential Ambassador – making a difference one blog at a time!

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on April 13, 2012, in PFIT TIPS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Definitely a great list of tips! I love to talk about running because it just makes me happy, but I try not to push food or fitness on anyone unless they ask!

  2. Great article, really enjoy the tips!

  3. Love this post Bonnie. I’m all about “living the lean lifestyle” and being an example for people…rather than just “yapping” at them. #FitFluential

  4. Love this post!! Great tips to live by. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

  5. Thanks. Im not a fitness ambassador by any means (although I think I secretly aspire to be one.) It makes me feel comfortable when people like yourself think this way. So thank you. Please keep inviting people and dont give up on us. I want people to keep trying. It shows that you care.

    • Thank you! I’m so glad you feel that way. I know I can never help anyone if they don’t feel comfortable first. That’s the first step. Thanks for the encouragement! I’ll try to keep on keepin’ on!! 🙂

  6. Great tips – ones we should all be living by if we want to help inspire others toward healthier living! Thanks for sharing, Bonnie. 😀

  7. I love this message and hope every day that I’m leading by example and encouraging, not discouraging. Nothing feels worse than when you struggle and achieve something only to hear from someone how they did better than you. I’ve experienced that many times and it can be such a turn off. There is definitely something to be said for being real as well as letting others have their moment. Thanks for posting this!

    • I experience that all the time. It’s like the fitness business is the bragging business. people will say “I have ____ body fat” or “I just benched ____ weight”. Or worse: They’ll complain about being fat when they are clearly more shredded than you. UGH! haha Tuuuurn OFFF! haha

  8. Great points! I think actions are louder than words. No preaching allowed! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  9. Thanks for this great article, I have just started running with a friend of mine who is always in the gym. She has struggled to run outdoors though and I know she just appreciates the support and company…no pressure just making it fun.

  10. Michelle M. Of Forest hills, ny

    I can totally contest to this. Such a great message! My best friend tried to help me out at first but she backed off when she saw that’s wasn’t responsive… Then one day it just kicked in and I found my self ready to go and she’s been by my side as a positive reminder. I’ve now done 2 5ks have three more coming up and signed up for a 10 miler and have lost a total of 35 lbs in 4 months all because she has been nothing but supportive and a positive influence on me! And I have turned and started to influance others and they come to me for advise! Pay it forward!

Leave a Reply

