The Secret to Motivation

“Motivation doesn’t get you results, results gets you motivated.” 

So you want to get fit in 2012, but no matter how gross you feel from eating all the Holiday garbage you still don’t seem to have the motivation you need to actually start now? Sound familiar?

It’s surely not that you don’t want to be fit. The issue is we are too focused on our current condition. When we think of working out we think of “Gym shopping sucks. Great, I get to stuff my body into spandex when I feel my fattest. I’ll be the fattest one in the gym. I’ll be the oldest one in the gym. What if I’m the most out of shape one in the gym? I’m going to look like a total fitness tard. I’m going to BE a total fitness tard. I’m gonna sweat like an out of shape fat kid in gym class. I’m going to embarrass myself. I’ll breath so hard people will think I have COPD. My body is going to be so sore I won’t be able to move.” The thought of any of this rarely is appealing – especially to a newbie.

However, if we focused on the results we totally would think differently. “I can’t wait to find the gym that will whip my body into shape. I look forward to wearing some of those awesome workout clothes I see in magazines. Soon, I’ll blend right in (and maybe even standing out). I hope I AM one of the oldest people in the gym so I can inspire others. Sweating is working. Pain is weakness leaving my body. I’m going to breath so hard people will think I’m an athlete. I love being sore because it reminds me I am changing my body. I’m going to feel SO good when I’m done! Yes! I am totally looking forward to this!”

You see, rarely does our fat out of shape body welcome exercise. We love to dream of changing our bodies, but actually doing the work is a whole other story. We focus on how fat we feel instead of how fit we can become – and it can be overwhelming. Instead of waiting on motivation to get you success – stay focused on success to get you (and keep you) motivated.

If you focus on what all that work is going to do for you, you will RUN to the gym!!

THIS MONTH’S MANTRAS:

“This year I’ll DO THE WORK because I want THE RESULTS.”

“Don’t focus on how FAT YOU FEEL, focus on how FIT YOU’LL BECOME.” 

Subscribe to my blog for more motivational tips. 🙂 

1st photo from http://workout-routines-that-work-blog.blogspot.com
2nd photo is Monica Brant from her VersaGripps testimonial.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on January 3, 2012, in Motivational, PFOCUS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Law of attraction baby!! If you focus on what you don’t want or like, you’ll only get more of that. Visualize what you do want and there it is! Thanks Bonnie, for reminding me this morning!

  2. Great article! Thanks for sharing!

    All the best,
    Brett

  3. Great article as usual, Bonnie. As the calendar turns to 2012, if find myself in this very situation (due to no one’s fault but my own). Thanks for the boost!

    On another note, I’d like to suggest that you remove the word “tard” from your lexicon. I’m not so much offended by it, but I know quite a few people that are. Particularly if they have special needs or developmentally disabled children, relatives, friends, etc. I’ve done some work with the Best Buddies organization and I know they are working to remove negative use of the word “retarded”. They are a great organization and I support their efforts.

    Just a thought 🙂

    • The Quilt Album sounds woenfrdul & you make is sound very easy to use, even for those of us somewhat tech challenged. I’d love to win one of them. Thank you for splaining it to us.Dixie

Leave a Reply

