Our Body Needs Breakfast to Stay Fit

“People who skip breakfast are 4 1/2 TIMES more likely to be overweight.”

Before Steve and I got married, I seldom ate breakfast. Since Steve was in school for exercise and nutrition at that time, he knew how important breakfast was. I, on the other hand, was in the habit of flying out the door with only a cup of coffee for the drive if I was lucky. Thankfully, Steve never gave up on me and I finally discovered how breakfast truly does start your day off right.

People skip breakfast for many different reasons. I simply didn’t make the time eat. Others may skip breakfast because they don’t feel hungry. Some people complain that eating breakfast makes them feel hungry earlier in the day, yet others just haven’t found the right food to suit their taste.

Living in today’s society where diets are hot and plump is not, there is also a large population who skip breakfast just to skip the extra calories. Ironically, people who miss breakfast are actually 4 1/2 TIMES more likely to be overweight. Our body needs breakfast to stay fit and here’s why:

1. It fuels your body. Adults often rely on a cup of coffee to get them ready for the day, when food is what the body really needs. You must replenish the supply of glucose that you lose overnight with a healthy morning meal. Once you get your blood sugar up, you’ll have the energy you need – with or without the coffee!

2. It increases your metabolism. After an overnight fast (that’s why they call it “break fast”), your metabolism is at an all-time low each morning. Your metabolism speeds back up after you eat. If you miss breakfast, you are missing a great opportunity to increase your metabolism and burn more calories.

3. It Keeps you sharp. When I was young, my mom always fixed me a healthy breakfast on exam days. I just thought the special treatment was to show her support. Little did I know it actually had an affect on my brain! Now I know when we deprive our self of food, we deprive our self of energy and fuel for the brain. Thanks mom!

4. Prevents overeating at lunchtime. Skipping breakfast sets you up for making poor choices later in the day. Suddenly fast food sounds like a good idea whether you are dieting or not. When you are starving to death you go for the quick fixes which are normally high in fat and calories. You’ll have a lot more self control during at lunch if you give your body what it needs in the morning.

_____________________________________________________

Q:Why am I MORE hungry on the days I eat Breakfast?
A. One person complained they are more hungry on the days they eat breakfast. There are 2 great reasons for this – and this should REALLY encourage you. One, you are more hungry because breakfast revs your metabolism causing you to fly through the calories. Two, you may just be eating the wrong kind of food. Cereals, processed foods (bread) and sugary pastries won’t last long so make sure you are eating a hearty breakfast with low-glycemic carbs (like whole oats & grains), protein (greek yogurt, milk, meat & egg whites) and healthy fats (I use olive oil butter in my oatmeal and make sure my greek yogurt isn’t fat free). Eating healthy, including healthy fats keeps me fuller longer – and if I find I’m hungry mid-morning I celebrate, knowing that means I’m really burning through the calories!! WOOT!

MY FAVORITE BREAKFASTS:
Plain Greek Yogurst with a sprinkle of berries, Ezekiel granola and honey. (I sweeten with Stevia)
Bagel thin with lunch meat, slice of low-fat cheese, thin spread of veggie cream cheese and veggies.
Low-Carb High-Protein wrap (like Flat Out) with slices of banana and peanut butter.
Ezekiel granola with soy milk and blueberries.
Egg Beaters, Spinach, Tomatoes, Onions and low-fat feta cheese.
Bagel thin with egg white, sliced avocado, tomato and onion. (my mom’s fav right now)
Protein Shake with milk, a couple pieces of frozen banana and a 1/2 teaspoon of peanut butter.

EMERGENCY FAST GRABS:
Zone Bar
Greek Yogurt Cup
Packet of Oatmeal (We do fruit & cream or dates & nuts)
Protein Shake
1/2 Bagel with peanut butter & honey

TIP: Chop veggies before hand and have ready to go for fast omelets and breakfast sandwiches.

Subscribe

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Diet & Nutrition Tips, Healthy Priorites and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Love it! this was one of the most valuable lessons that I’ve learned over the years. If I have a healthy breakfast, I am 10 times more likely to eat well the rest of the day 🙂

  2. This post is right on the money! I skipped breakfast to save the calories for the rest of the day, but once I started eating a high protein breakfast, I have since lost the weight that I was struggling to lose.

    • Totally common!! my mom did that for YEARS. She was so worried about overall calorie content she was slowing her metabolism down and setting herself up for failure and not knowing it. Now she eats breakfast – and 5-6 times a day (and is 80-90lbs THINNER!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

