My New Trainer

MY NEW TOY
I got an email the other day from Jake, from GymBoss, letting me know he was going to be sending me one of his interval timers. I thought the ideas was cool, especially with so much of our BCx Boot Camp being timed, etc. and couldn’t wait to try it!

SO I get the package this week, which included an black interval timer for Steve and a pink one for me! I am already excited because I am all about the gadgets – and it’s PINK too!! This is my lucky day!

TRAINING WITH MY BFF & GYMBOSS
So yesterday, my workout partner & BFF, Kristie, and I used my new GymBoss for our regular scheduled workout. We set the intervals for Tabata, which is named after Dr. Izumi Tabata and a team of researchers from the National Institute of Fitness and Sports in Tokyo and is one of the best training methods for overall fitness and fat loss. Tabata uses training intervals of 20 seconds of work with 10 seconds of rest for 8 sets.

Although Tabata training is best used for working large muscle groups or multi-muscle group training like squat thrusts or push-presses, we used it for our shoulder workout starting with shoulder presses.

I knew I’d have to start a little lighter than normal since I was doubling the sets. Our goal was to do as many reps as we could in each 20-second interval. The first set was great, second was already harder – funny how much more intense training is when you are not just completing a task, but doing a task for time. Then by the third set I already had to start going down on my weight. By the last set I was barely lifting my arms, much less weight. Like I always say “it hurts so good“. It was awesome!
After huffing and puffing it through our workout, we agreed – the GymBoss really helped us take our workout up a notch. By the time we finished, we were spent and ready for our Banana Foster protein shakes whipped up my Max protein shake master, Jordan DiAngelo. YUM!  🙂

TURNING OFF THE BRAIN
The best part of working out with the GymBoss, besides it was a KILLER workout, was I didn’t have to think – and I LOVE not having to think! I hate counting. I can’t count and talk at the same time. You’d never know I was a drummer and can do other things at one time!

With the GymBoss, I didn’t have to count, I didn’t have to stop in the middle of a sentence to finish my reps and “concentrate” while I finished a set. I just set the timer, clipped the timer to my tank top strap, and GOT-R-DONE! The GymBoss beeps and/or vibrates at every interval to let you know when to stop and start. It was like having a trainer tell you what to do for only $19.95! It was AWESOME!

While it was my turn to work, I worked HARD while I listened to Kristie chat and then when it was her turn, I was able to rest my body and mind while she repped it out. The workout flew by and got a great workout.


DO I HAVE A NEW JOB?
OK, so by now you probably think GymBoss hired me to “sell” their product. Nope! I just really enjoyed it THAT much. For those of you who will be commenting about how you’ve been working out with GymBoss for a while and bragging how much you like it – you better watch it! I’ll scold you for not telling me about it earlier!! ha!

That’s why I’m spreading the love. A good fitness tool is like a yummy piece of cake. When you’ve tasted something THAT good, you just HAVE to share it!!  I’m hooked!!

GET YOUR GYMBOSS!

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on May 18, 2011, in Exercise & Training, Fitness Products & Trends. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Been with the gym boss now for over a year-Aren’t they great!!This really does help to get into and to stay in shape.Often times we chat or we watch our training partner perform their exercises while we wait so long between sets that we fail to accomplish our goals.By the time we get ready to perform our own sets-wiggle into position-adjust the grip so that it’s just right-the seconds are ticking by and we lose a lot of the training effort expended to the lost time.

Leave a Reply

