Can you screw up a turkey sandwich? Arby’s did.

HUNGRY FOR A TURKEY SANDWICH
I normally don’t like to name brands in a rant – actually, I rarely rant about anything BUT today I am ranting because I don’t want YOU to make the same mistake I just did!! Ugh!

I normally NEVER eat fast food. However, I was in a hurry today and drove thru Arby’s as I thought that would be better than Burger King and other fast food joints in the area. After looking at the menu, I decided on a turkey sandwich. Then I asked if they had any sides besides anything fried. She suggested the side salad so I ordered the salad with honey mustard.


THE DISCOVERY

When I got to the office I promptly looked up the calories for my choice (while as I was eating the first half of my turkey sandwich I

might add). To my complete and utter

disbelief, the sandwich was a WHOPPING 710 calories. Add that to my 70 calorie side salad  and I am at 780 calories. But wait! There’s more! I looked on my little pouch of honey dijon mustard dressing and it was another flippin’ 180 calories!! O.M.G.!!

So, I abruptly quit eating my darn sandwich so not to consume the remaining 355 calorie half and just dabbed a bit of the dressing on the lettuce so not to completely ruin my whole day, although I am sure I still ended up eating 450 calories when all said and done.


THE REALITY

What a shame is all I can say. I am a fitness professional and I am SURE people who are really sincerely trying to lose weight would have thought they made a good choice with these choices, only to rack up 960 CALORIES!!

This is why people can NOT guess their way through a diet. Even food choices that appear healthy may still exceed our caloric limit when trying to lose weight and sabotage your weight loss.


YOUR CHANCE TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE
If you have had high-calorie fast food discovery, I want to know! Share your discovery and help spare others of repeating the mistake you made. Together, as we share our fitness journey, we can learn from each other, gain more knowledge and get closer to our goals!

Please don’t leave this post without sharing. Although I encourage you to read my blog as much as possible as I hope you find my blog helpful, educational and encouraging – YOU can make a difference too! Don’t keep it to yourself! Join the movement to get American healthy!

Subscribe to my blog and get more diet and fitness tips, chatter and motivation and encouragement.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on May 17, 2011, in Diet & Nutrition Tips, Goals, PFED UP. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. amazing, but not entirely surprising. preying on the uneducated public is, unfortunately, big business. why can’t healthy choices actually BE healthy choices?

    • Well, healthy can still be high-calorie so maybe that was a poor choice of words on my end. There are a lot of people who are eating healthy, but still eating WAY too many calories. I guess it’s better than a cheeseburger and fries! Arby’s MEDIUM curly fries were 600 calories!!! Holy Moly!! I used to eat those all the time back in “the day”. ha! 🙂

  2. I’m sorry, but I don’t think, unless they were promoting their turkey sandwich as low calorie (which isn’t the same as ‘healthy’; there are plenty of healthy but high calorie foods), they didn’t screw up.

    The sandwich contained more calories than you were expecting, but that’s hardly their fault, is it?

    • Oh I’m not saying it’s “their fault” as much as I am just saying we, as consumers, have to be super careful when trying to choose low-calorie foods on the go. Just thought it would be a good example of how something that appears to be lower in calories because it’s “healthier” may still be lots of calories. That was a LOT of calories for a little turkey sandwich. 🙂

  3. On my way home from an early evening workout, I picked up Pollo Tropical for the family. A quarter of the chicken, some balsamic tomatoes and a small side of plantains and it was 1200 calories!

  4. So timely! Just decided not to order at Arby’s last night while the kids ate. Posted on my blog to your article.

    • AWESOME! Thanks for sharing. It just reminded me to keep a closer watch on calories. I, of all people, should know better but I still get surprised by how many calories are in restaurant food. 🙂

  5. That’s why I try not eating out, though all my kids were around last week so we did go out to eat..fortunately I already had an idea the salad i was ordering would have about 1000 calories in it so planned for that it what was funny was my sons 19 yr old girlfriend said “but its Only salad” when i said I was going to go for looooong bike ride after…had to inform/educate her on the ingredients and fact that restaurants whether sit down or fast food can Jack up the fat content, calorie content of foods we could make at home healthier..was learning experience for her.

Leave a Reply

