Easy Low-Cal Papaya Salad Dressing

Recently, I was at a women’s retreat at my church where they served a really nice chicken salad with this wonderful orange colored dressing. It was so delicious and fresh tasting I decided I HAD to learn more about this mysterious dressing.

With a little research, I discovered the mysterious dressing was a homemade papaya dressing. I tracked down the chef and asked her for more information. Knowing I am in the fitness business, she proudly boasted it was really pretty healthy and was generous enough to share her fabulous recipe.

Low and behold, after I inputed the ingredients in http://www.FitDay.com, I was amazed to see it was only 28 calories and 2 grams a fat per ounce (or 2 tablespoons). Although most people use 2-4 ounces of dressing on a large salad,  because the consistency of this dressing is so thick I used a lot less than I normally do – meaning even fewer calories!

I tried the recipe out on my family for Easter and it was a hit so I thought I’d share it with you. Enjoy!
Papaya & Maui Onion Dressing

1/2 small Maui onion (or any sweet white onion)
1 1/2 small Papayas or 1/2 of a lg. one, seeded and peeled
1/4 cup rice vinegar
¼ cup honey
1 oz. sesame seed oil
1 cup canola oil (I used 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup olive oil)
salt and pepper
Add Stevia to sweeten (I didn’t quite use a 1/4 c of honey so I added sweetener)

Blend until smooth.

It yielded 40 ounces total, which was enough to feed an army! (or my husband Steve!)  🙂
I served it with a light chicken salad with grapes and walnuts on a bed of fresh organic greens.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on April 25, 2011, in PFOODIE, Recipes & Brands. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love low cal dressings! Sometimes I even use natural salsa as my salad dressing since it’s so low cal, or cottage cheese for a protein boost. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

